How do YOU fight boredom?

There are plenty of things I could be doing that I wouldn’t have time for boredom to set in. But those are things I have to do anyway which can be a chore boring. I love using my brain! I could read (and do love to), but with kids interrupting every few minutes, I just can’t get into a good book like I used to pre-children. (I blog from my phone that can be “paused” when my children need my attention.) In my book reading days, I picked non-fiction. I’ve read every possible book I could find on Anne Frank (her diary, the extended version, people who knew her). It branched out to reading about WWII and the experiences of others in the Nazi Concentration Camps.

In school, we had yearly assessments. By the time I was in 6th grade, I had the reading level of a high school senior. This was challenging since books written for 6th graders were too easy and those written for 12th graders were inappropriate. I took a liking to a set of old books my aunt kept in wonderful condition that she passed along to me- Nancy Drew. Thankfully, she had also kept a set of The Hardy Boys, which I read through after finishing Nancy Drew. I so loved reading mysteries and trying to solve them along with the characters! As I grew, I started reading more true crime novels.

During the first couple years of high school, I despised history classes. They bored me to tears with all the names and dates I was supposed to remember. I had a hard enough time keeping all the names of my friends straight and could only remember the birth dates of my closest family members. It wasn’t until my Junior year of high school that I had a history teacher that had such animated passion. It was this teacher of American History that sparked my later obsessions with the 1960’s history and politics. I had, all along, enjoyed history- I just didn’t know it. John F. Kennedy- before, during, and after his presidency and murder- was the first subject of my studious efforts to find truth and evidence. It was a passion driven by a shared name, state, and the fondness and desire for human rights, equality, and justice. After I graduated high school, I read the Commissioner’s report and took my own notes of what I wanted to dig deeper on. Yes, I’m a total geek.

The next “true crime” I really remember reading was A Death in Texas: A Story of Race, Murder and a Small Town’s Struggle for Redemption by Dina Temple-Raston. Everything I had read about the progression of segregation with JFK was questioned after reading about this tragedy. I grew up rather naive to racism in modern society. It heightened my awareness to the lingering problem, although I still remained mostly naive until living in the South.

There are times I wish I could forget knowing problems like this exist in my world- and worse, my children’s world. Unfortunately for those who would rather remain in ignorant bliss, I can’t unknow and I can’t stay silent.

I have a strong desire to learn, understand and find truth and eventually that leads to justice (that is the hope). I’m constantly thinking and without focused attention, I get incredibly bored. In several days, I will be back to my normal routine and classes will begin and I will have that focused attention my brain craves. Until then, I will spend my boredom soaking up knowledge and sharing it in words.

Leave Your Thoughts

